Dear Pillow

Thank you for being there!

Meghna N
Mini Mailer
2 min readJul 20, 2021

--

Photo by Jude Infantini on Unsplash

Dear Pillow,

I remember the first time I met you at the furniture store. My old pillow had worn out and I wanted a new one. I had been wandering around the place for about half an hour and yet, I hadn’t found the right one. Suddenly, my eyes fell on you, lurking in the corner, as if trying to catch someone’s attention. Strangely, you reminded me of myself. I walk up to you and hold you. I felt an instant warmth, like how Harry Potter felt when he held his Holly and Phoenix, 11 inches.

You were neither too fancy nor too shabby; neither too soft nor too hard; you weren’t pearly white but you weren’t dull either. You were a striking balance and were just right for me. Without any second thoughts, I had chosen you as my companion.

When the night feels long, I hold onto you extra tight so I would feel a little less lonely. I hug you close to my bosom and somehow, you bring me peace.

On days when I am angry, I throw you around to control my anger. I know you think that because you are unbreakable and light, I take you for granted. That is partly true, but not entirely. It’s just I know you would get me: my anger, my temper. And I will make sure to never hurt you. I am really sorry for all those times.

On hard days, I don’t understand from where you get the capacity to absorb my tears. You have seen the worst in me. I have exposed my vulnerabilities to you, cried with confidence in you because I know you will never judge me. I don’t get emotional often, but sometimes, when I am too overwhelmed, I seek shelter in you. You lend your shoulder to me until I calm down.

You have no complaints, and no demands.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Thank you for being my cuddle buddy, my punch bag, my support system, and most importantly my trusted companion. The day I met you, I knew we would go a long way. I promise to be a bit more careful and treat you with care. Even if you are worn out and old, I’ll never throw you away. You belong with me. You are my home.

And never, ever give up on me, promise?

From,
A girl for whom you are a soulmate.

Love writing letters? Join Mini Mailer

--

--