Dear Roses,

Thank you for lending me one of you

Faith Stories
Mini Mailer

--

Photo by Budgeron Bach from Pexels

One of my favourite memories of you is from years ago. As a university student hurrying through the school halls, the last thing I thought I’d see was you calling out to me.

Hundreds of you were stacked on a wooden table, handed out by student volunteers. I found myself reaching out to one of you. Careful not to touch your thorns, my fingers held onto you ever so gently.

My heart began racing as your delicate petals, coupled with your sweet fragrance, enchanted me under a magical love spell. Light as a feather living in my own dreamland, I began skipping through the halls with a bounce in my step.

The gusty winter wind hit me as I stepped outside the school building. Fighting against the wind, I cusped you in my arms while walking along the sidewalks, into the station, and down the escalator to the underground subway.

The station was dark and relatively empty. In a few moments, I heard the familiar sound of a roaring subway and its bright flashing lights approach me. I entered inside nervously as several passersby had looked at you with great curiosity. I held you close to me, safe, till you got to the place I wanted you to be.

One by one, each station passed until I saw my destination at last. Hopping out of the subway, I paced back and…

--

--