Dear Scarlett,

A note of acknowledgment

Nayanika Saikia
Mini Mailer

--

Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

Dear Scarlett,

I was a young girl of just 13 when I first met you. I was 16 when I met you again for the second time. Both times, you were a force to be reckoned with.

You were vain and proud and reckless and manipulative and resourceful and shrewd and cunning. I was in awe of you. Let me rephrase that.

In the beginning, I had a love-hate relationship with you. I hated you for how manipulative you were, and your “I’m not like other girls” attitude. I thought you were pathetic and hated your unwavering obsession with Ashley. I thought you were better than that. That you deserved better than that. That you should fight for more than that.

I hated how evil you were and how duplicitous. As Rhett said, you held the love others had for you as a whip over their heads, using it to manipulate them and make sure that things happened only your way. I thought you were despicable.

But I also held a grudging admiration for you. For your gumption. You put yourself out there. You were not timid, not afraid of rejection every time you went for Ashley. And you kept your word to him. You were loyal and courageous when you had to be. You left aside your belle-of-the-ball ways when you had to work the fields. You sure hated it. But you did it. You slaved and toiled in…

--

--