Dear Spyro the Dragon

The purple dragon that changed my life one flame at a time.

Vivian Stevenson
Mini Mailer
2 min readJan 12, 2022

--

A gray Nintendo switch lite with the Spyro the Dragon: Reignited Trilogy home screen on the left. Next to the switch is the case for the Spyro game. Both lying flat on a pink blanket.
Image provided by author.

Dear Spyro,

No matter how often I see your purple body and golden horns on my Nintendo Switch screen, the boredom ceases to set in. Your charming smile and determination make me want to flame the enemies into oblivion and dive off tall cliffs in hopes of making it to the next ledge.

There’s nothing quite like the way you chase egg thieves around sharp corners and over vats of liquid. I jump for joy when you release an elder dragon from its icy shell.

I want to apologize for pressing the wrong buttons and sending you to your doom. My fingers match your energy and become trigger happy. Frequently, the easy enemies are the hardest to conquer due to those absurdly delighted fingers.

When I rented you from the movie store in my quaint hometown, you became an essential part of my life. The television screen lit up my enraptured face until the sun peeked over the horizon. I especially enjoyed it when I let you rest for a few minutes and your sidekick, Sparx, would fly at the camera. His sweet yellow face made it that much harder when I returned you to the store.

I couldn’t play you for many years, but now that you’re back in my life, I will never place you on a dusty, old shelf. You have too many items to collect and rings to fly through for that.

You scratch a nostalgic itch, not just for me but for many other dragon enthusiasts, and for that, I thank you.

In appreciation,
Your biggest fan

--

--

Vivian Stevenson
Mini Mailer

An avid reader who dabbles in art and baking along the way.