Dear sunset

Letter to the world's best painter

Vidya Kasarla
Mini Mailer
3 min readJun 10, 2021

--

Photo by Carla Cervantes on Unsplash

Dear sunset,

“They ran to museums for paintings. I ran to the roof for sunsets” — Darnell Lamont Walker

Darnell sums up my feelings in few words.

As I squat in front of you, upon my terrace, watching you and writing this letter with the evening breeze comforting me, I feel complete. I feel something settling in my heart; something very pleasant.

I read somewhere that ‘a person watching sunset’ implies he/she is stable in their lives leaving behind all materialistic things. I’m not sure if that’s the case with me. What I’m sure of is watching you make me happy; I feel as if everything or every problem is minute and I can successfully crush it with my single toe. You give me strength, confidence, and hope.

As I sit on the cement log and watch you paint over your canvas, the sky, I realize nothing in this world is as beautiful as you. And a smile automatically makes its way to my lips.

I like colors; I always did. A plethora of shades emerged from my palette(thanks to my random mixes), but never have I seen the shades you used to paint the sky. Your every shade, every stroke motivates me to pick my brush and be a Leonardo da Vinci for a while. Alas, not everyone can be. But all I wish right now is to steal your palette and shades and bring out a tiny version of you on my silly little canvas. I know how much ever I try, I can never be a better painter than you. Nor even Leonardo da Vinci. Nor anyone on the earth. I wonder how people often forget that even Leonard gained his skill from you.

You bring life to your canvas, your dear sky. Please tell me, how do you create a painting entirely different from your previous ones? How do you get those unique colors over your canvas every single evening? How do you ever apply those strokes evenly and perfectly over your canvas? And How do you steal my heart every single minute?

I feel jealous as I watch birds fly freely inside your magical canvas. If only I were a bird! Huh.

My dear sunset, I owe you a big thanks — for calming me down every single evening as I come carrying an enormous bag of restlessness of my entire day, for assuring me, soothing me, and for lulling me into beautiful daybreak. I hear you whisper sweet nothings over and over. I read your canvas that says, “It is okay if you rest for a while. It is okay to be down for a while because you know that in the next rise, you will be back with bright spirit and strength.”

I look up to you in my dark time, as you take my sorrows with you and bring back shine in my life. Thank you. Thank you, my sunset. I owe you big time.

And yes, this is my first letter. And I believe you are the perfect one I could start my journey with.

Yours lovingly,
the girl who loves colors and sunsets.

Thank you for stopping by and reading this. I hope you enjoyed it. Have a great day.

--

--