My Dear Small Business,

You give me the best headaches

Fatima Martinez
Mini Mailer
2 min readMar 25, 2022

--

Photo by Hayley Seibel on Unsplash

Do you remember when I wanted you to be something different? I can’t believe how little I knew about you.

I was alone, needed a chance to work and you came into my mind, but I guess I was so lonely that I put a little amount of energy towards you but you are great and kind and you didn’t care.

Despite my mistakes and lack of knowledge, you stuck with me. I wish I believe in myself like you do.

Do you remember that time when I had to study the market and went to a children’s playground? I tried so hard to dissimulate taking notes but some parents noticed and gently left 🙈. Or when I was building my measurement table and went to a mall and sneak in children’s clothes into adults' clothes so I could take measures and write them down in the fitting room? 😵‍💫

It all paid off in the end, the greatest compliment I received from clients was that my clothes fit perfectly.

I’m sorry for giving up on you that year I had a job somewhere else. Even though I had some stability, your leftovers of fabrics in my house just reminded me of the great potential you had and it was heartbreaking to see all the things I could have done; we could have done.

But now, after losing the job, a pandemic, we are back, with experience, knowledge, a master’s degree, and resources. The things you have made me study, learn, and discover have brought joy to my life and purpose to you. I always wanted a business with purpose.

This time we are coming back stronger, and that scares me every single day, but I know that you are now on the right path and I can handle the adversities to come, or at least now I know how to ask for help.

I know you and you know me. We have been a great team so far. I’m so excited to see ourselves growing together.

With effort and faith,

Fa.

--

--

Fatima Martinez
Mini Mailer

Mexican fashion designer, sustainability lover, learner; I enjoy to write about fashion and dreams, and I love my morning coffee and my skin care routine.