GROWING UP OR GROWING OLD?

Ridhima Jindal
Thoughtaholic
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2020

my 23 story!

just a number?

They call this generation MILLENNIALS, but my question is am I really one or not? Do I actually belong to the category or no?

Sometimes I wonder, Am I actually and really growing up or just becoming a non technical youth? Well, I do know how to use computers and work on a professional front, but still fail to understand this millennial generation, being a part of it.

I turned 23 last year, and realized an astonishing fact about myself. The world, where everyone wants a 100% presence on social media, I simply strive to enjoy the moment and not Instagram and Facebook my entire life. The world is going crazy to be a part of Tik Tok family, but I still enjoy making a camera video of myself and capturing the moment in it’s original form.

I do use Instagram and Facebook, but my life does not depend on how many likes my post has. I do believe in digital presence, but also believe in living a real LIFE as well.

You could call me old fashioned, but I would still enjoy a cup of coffee in my balcony and not Instagram it. I would still enjoy talking to my friends over a video call rather than just texting them for the sake of it; I would rather have 2 real friends than 2000 Facebook friends or Instagram followers.

Few people tell me how I am a non technical person because I do not know how to use Instagram and Facebook perfectly, but does not really matter!! I would rather prefer to be able to lead a meaningful life than living it for the gram!! I do not know a lot of abbreviations that he generation today knows, and still prefer to write- How are you? than writing Howz u?

Yes, I sometimes google the most basic functions of my android because I do not know. It does not really matter if I know such things or not, but what is important is- Do I know what I want in my life? The answer is yes! I do not believe in a lot of social media presence, but it does not make me unaware about the world too!!

So, this is what I learned in my journey of 23. I had a lot of time to discover myself off late and I did. Life is nothing but a discovery of yourself- which makes me tell you that- I am a highly disturbed person if something unusual or bad happens, and takes me months to recover!!

So, I do not know if I am just backwards or it does not really matter, but I do know that this is how I am and this is how I shall prefer to be for myself.

#stilldiscovering #quarantinemodeison #blog #writingisfun+love #my23journey

Love,

Ridhima

--

--

Ridhima Jindal
Thoughtaholic

Writing makes me feel calm and it is something I love doing!! I create stories, write experiences and help the world know me better as a person & a writer too:)