The Menu Bottle Grinder

Bryan Maniotakis
minimalgoods
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

I’ve been on a little mission lately on replacing a lot of the hideous kitchen gear I’ve accumulated with things that are a little bit easier on the eyes. Once I had that goal, I started to notice kitchen items a little bit more, and one of the more recurring things I would see were these Bottle Grinders designed by NORM architects and produced by Menu design.

In keeping with my monochromatic kitchen theme, I picked up the salt and pepper shakers in white and black.

The design is very simple — the body is made of a soft feeling matte plastic, which is topped with a wooden wheel that you turn depending on how coarse you want the grind.

The wheels are marked with a simple debossed pattern, showing which way to turn the wheel for a coarse or fine grind.

They are definitely larger than your average grinder.

To add your spice into the grinder, you just pull the two halves apart. Once they are back together, they feel very solid.

Then pour the contents into the top of the grinder ( Sea Salt in my case).

It fits… a lot.

These are the results of something around a medium grind.

Final thoughts

While these feel great to use, I do wish there were some changes around the grind settings. You can just keep spinning the top for what feels like forever, and it takes quite some to get to either end. I would almost prefer a notched system where you can select 4 settings like the top indicates. That said, I’d still recommend these, and they are pretty easy to find locally as well as online.

Purchase on Amazon

This article was originally posted on minimalgoods.co

--

--