Finding Me, Again.

Liza Chuma Akunyili
Lizinawe
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readMar 1, 2022

I miss writing way more than I can tell you. So, why did I stop writing?

As you remember I was writing letters to an abused girl before I suddenly fell off. Well, I fell off because I got sick. This therapist forgot to check and maintain her mental health.

The mental breakdown happened in a week but it took me two extra months to get back on my feet and another two weeks of processing like an old computer. In those months I realized just how much work my brain did throwing words together.

One of those days, someone spoke to me and it took me about 20 minutes just to process what they said. By the time I recovered in September, just right before my 26th birthday, I chose to give myself grace.

Movie Night

To give me grace meant I needed to still believe I will be a writer any day I’m finally able to put words together. It meant I stayed in Writers Space Africa even though I was tempted to bail when everyone was hitting creative milestones. It meant I had to forgive myself for being less worded.

The irony of this sickness was that I finally launched my styling and skincare business as those were more hands-on and required me to use fewer words. See, it was not all bad. I got something great from being incapacitated for 3 months.

I am fully back and learning to be a writer again. Sometimes, I am unsure if I qualify as a poet but I know I can still write so, I’ll start from there.

I am finishing my Beauty in Unlikely Places collection and I am definitely recording my affirmation clips on TikTok. Now that I have brought you up to speed with me, it is your turn to tell me what I missed with you in the last six months.

--

--

Liza Chuma Akunyili
Lizinawe

I love how art is embedded in us and how science questions us. I am a student of life and this adventure called life is one I’m set to explore.