HOME WITH YOU

Liza Chuma Akunyili
Lizinawe
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2021

Home is when I’m in your arms with my head slightly angled towards your chest and that sweet crest of your neck. Here, the day's pressure rolls off me like water on rocks, the cuddle bug the world would swear I can never be, comes out to express herself.

https://www.linathomsenphotography.de/

Home is when we share our dreams of the future; the kids at the dining wondering why we’re smiling sheepishly across the table and are always in hurry to get them to bed every night.

Home is when we never miss our kids' games yet take them to extreme poor areas in society so they learn empathy and know life isn’t only a bed of rose.

Home is when we dare to make business plans that all the Dollars, Pounds and Bitcoins we have can’t fund. it’s when we draft investment portfolios that push us to get off our lazy asses and put in the work required.

Home is the desire to tease you every time I dress up; the extra details and the calculated torments, the curling at the pit of my stomach knowing I torture myself more than I’m doing to you yet being willing to wait through the pins and needles.

Home is the unabating urge to watch you succeed; the willingness to harmonize my skill with yours so we chase our 10,000 in record time

--

--

Liza Chuma Akunyili
Lizinawe

I love how art is embedded in us and how science questions us. I am a student of life and this adventure called life is one I’m set to explore.