I am proud of you.

Liza Chuma Akunyili
Lizinawe
Published in
2 min readJul 13, 2021

Dear Masi,

Thank you for telling me your story yesterday. I am so sorry you had to go through that.

I am sorry your mum didn’t believe you and your aunt claimed you seduced her husband. I am absolutely sorry you had to go through all these on your own.

I am not trying to patronize you; I am proud of you, Masi. I’m glad you didn’t put off the CCTV in your room as you used to every time he came around. I am so glad. I don’t even want to analyse that miracle.

I am super glad you dared to be that courageous. I can imagine how you must have felt ashamed that someone else will watch the video but I’m glad you chose your security over anyone’s opinion.

You know what makes me feel like squeezing you in a bear hug is the way you sneaked the flash into the lawyer's handbag. That was so smart considering people were accusing you of ‘crocodile tears’ after you broke that bottle on his head.

I feel like laughing. Girl! That must have felt great. He had it coming all the while. I’m just so sorry you had to be penetrated against your will consistently.

I’m glad the foolish man didn’t die. He deserves his sentence and I am not even playing the ‘have mercy on him’ card.

Don’t let anyone guilt-trip you into any false forgiveness.

I really should be there squeezing you in a hug right now. Regardless of how you feel, remember you were strong enough to fight. You fought regardless of all the emotional blackmails.

You’re the real wonder woman, Girl.

Mua 💋

Write me back, please.

It’s lecture time. Got to run

--

--

Liza Chuma Akunyili
Lizinawe

I love how art is embedded in us and how science questions us. I am a student of life and this adventure called life is one I’m set to explore.