New Series: letters to the Abused.

Liza Chuma Akunyili
Lizinawe
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readJul 13, 2021

Some of my friends' from Writers Space Africa - Nigeria members are joining our friends at the Ghana chapter for the JULY 31 WRITING CHALLENGE and I decided to get involved. Unfortunately, I wasn’t sure of anything I wanted to write about for 30 straight days.

I started writing a new #loveletterseries to my unfound lover but it gave me no heat in my chest and absolutely felt hard like rollers without grease. I knew this wasn’t it but I couldn't miss a challenge that could improve my skills and satisfy your desire for fresh healing content. Then it hit me — I would write love letters to an abused girl. I did want to write for both sex but I knew I needed to choose in other to achieve depth and send my message.

As a therapist, I know people don’t know how to respond to an abuse victim. Sometimes, we offer shallow words as consolations, sometimes, we shame the victim and other times, we are so quick to jump on the “life goes on” bandwagon that we don’t realize our hurting loved ones are trapped in their hurts.

In the next 21 letters, I will be asking deliberate truth birthing questions. Whether you are the victim no one seems to get or you are the parent, lover or friend of the victim, I will be guiding you on how to reach them emotionally with these letters.

Also, I will be pouring out compassion deliberately, leaving huge spaces that allow you to feel and think (whoever you are). My goal is not to fill pages, it is to help you heal as you read every letter.

These letters are a journey; finish them but focus on each one at a time rather than marking your “being there, done it” scorecard.

I wish you healing & harmony, always.

Your therapist

Elizabeth Akunyili (MinisterLiza)

--

--

Liza Chuma Akunyili
Lizinawe

I love how art is embedded in us and how science questions us. I am a student of life and this adventure called life is one I’m set to explore.