Podcast Episode #29 My Story: Depression, Anxiety & Learning that I am Enough

Marcus Pibworth
Ministry of Change
Published in
2 min readNov 26, 2018

People often ask me if I’m going to share my own story on the podcast — well here it is. Last week I had the opportunity to speak at an event in Brighton run by Dave Perrins (featured in Ep.5 of the podcast) called Share Your Story.

The theme of the evening was ‘Strength from Weakness: Journeys in Mental Health and Vulnerability’ and I was invited to speak alongside two people, Rachel, who shared her journey with eating disorders, and Phil, who talked about navigating depression.

Despite being nervous it was an amazing opportunity, and I hope I get to do more public speaking in the future.

“Over this year I’ve met so many people… and so many of them say ‘I want to do this but I need to do X,Y,Z first’ Basically they are saying ‘I’m waiting for someone to tell me I can do this because I am not enough’ I look at all of these people and I know that all of them are enough. It doesn’t matter what they are doing. It doesn’t matter what their job is. It doesn’t matter what they are wearing. Or who they know. When I look into their eyes I know that they are beautiful humans. I know that they are enough. All of you… no matter what you think about yourselves, or what anyone else has told you, you are enough”

To find out more about my mental health journey check out my website: www.theministryofchange.org

Follow me on Twitter: @ministry_change

To support me to continue to create spaces to talk about mental health visit my Patreon page: bit.ly/supportmarcus

And finally, please like, subscribe, review and share the podcast to help me reach more people.with love,

Marcus

Originally published at theministryofchange.org on November 26, 2018.

--

--

Marcus Pibworth
Ministry of Change

I'm someone who thinks too much about things - exploring System Change, mental health and what it means to be alive in the 21st century.