James Arnoldi: The Messiah Complex & Growing into the Unknown

In this episode I chat with James Arnoldi about a period in his life a few years ago when he experienced a spiritual awakening / psychotic episode where he believed that he was Jesus.

Marcus Pibworth
Ministry of Change

--

A few months ago I was staying on my friends canal boat just outside of Oxford. It’s a truly magical place. A place outside of time. I always leave there feeling refreshed and full of creative energy.

This time, James Arnoldi was also there. It seemed like a very serendipitous meeting. I do believe we meet the people we need to meet when the time is right.

We got on well, and a few weeks later James invited me to stay with him in London, where we recorded this conversation.

We start of chatting about James’ experiences of a fruitless search of his family roots in Japan, and his entry into Family Constellation Therapy.

James then shares the fascinating period of his life that followed, where he experienced something akin to a spiritual awakening / psychotic episode that led him to believe he was sent from God.

Equally fascinating to me, was James’ description of the process of ‘coming back down to earth’ and becoming human again.

I love getting to talk to all these amazing people. It can be easy to assume that we all have a similar experience of day to day life, so sharing our stories is such an important way of realising that this is not the case.

That is what makes life interesting.

I hope you enjoy the show.

with love,

Marcus

A transcript of this episode is available to my Patreon supporters here

To support my journey visit www.patreon.com/ministryofchange
By supporting the project you enable me to continue to create these spaces to talk about mental health, as well as getting access to bonus content, episode transcripts and more

Originally published at theministryofchange.org.

--

--

Marcus Pibworth
Ministry of Change

I'm someone who thinks too much about things - exploring System Change, mental health and what it means to be alive in the 21st century.