COVID19 and MinorLeagueMadhouse

Alex Giobbi
Minor League Madhouse
2 min readMar 14, 2020

I’m sure nobody was expecting what has happened this past week to happen, but with how the Coronavirus has essentially shut down all major sports, among other things, MinorLeagueMadhouse has made the tough decision to cancel its Spring Training mock draft.

It was not a decision I had hoped to make, especially considering how amazing the college season had started out to be, plus seeing Nick Gonzales play the way he did made me seriously consider doing some major reshuffling. Still, college baseball is all but fully canceled with 17 of the 31 conferences done for the year.

High school competition is most likely done as well, with notable draft prospects facing the prospects of lost or abbreviated seasons, like Pete Crow-Armstrong. With very little to no information to go on, any chance at writing at least an improvement on Mock 3.0 is very unlikely and would probably be more wild speculation than educated guesses.

Since there really is no incentive to resume the schedule for the remaining ncaa holdouts and high schools, I imagine any information that can be gleaned will come from virtual showcases and, if possible hastily assembled combines and workouts. While my optimistic expectation is that we should be past the apex of the COVID19 bell curve by mid April, if not earlier, if I’m going to be honest I think the next mock you’ll see will be around May.

Again, I am sorry to disappoint anyone who has enjoyed my mocks, but this is entirely out of my control and I suffer with you. For now, just remember to stay safe, wash your hands, cough and sneeze into the crook of your elbow, avoid mass transit, etc… We will get through this. If we can get through SARS, Bird Flu, H1N1 and ebola, we can get through this.

--

--

Alex Giobbi
Minor League Madhouse

MLB Draft Nut. College Baseball Enthusiast. Assistant GM of Summer College Baseball Team.