Support Marriage Equality for Taiwan in Melbourne

Jenna Lin
Minor Point
Published in
11 min readDec 10, 2016

我在墨爾本,我支持台灣,婚姻平權

I am in Melbourne. I support Taiwan to legalize same-sex marriage.

在家中的群組談論同性戀婚姻議題一個月了,我弟遠在法國漢斯,我在墨爾本,我爸在中國廣東東莞清溪,家裡只有我媽跟兩隻狗在台北。我想人在國外,最大的遺憾就是無法親身參與台灣的這場社運。

My family is discussing the same-sex marriage issue over a month. However, I am in Melbourne. My brother is in Reims, France. My father is in China. There is only my mother and two dogs in Taiwan.
It is sad that we can’t attend to the Saturday parade by ourselves.

1207 週三早上,看著大家揪團參與 1210 的遊行,突然間覺得,如果我無法親自參與,那我又能做些什麼?

On 0712 Wednesday morning, an idea came out that if I can’t attend in person, what else can I do?

所以我立馬問室友,墨爾本哪裡可以買到彩虹旗,因為我單純的想帶著彩虹旗到處拍照,傳回去給台灣的朋友,告訴他們,我與他們同在。

I asked my housemate that where can I buy an LGBT flag in Melbourne? I want to take some photos in different places and send it back to Taiwan for my friend to show my support.

後來上網發現已經有海外人士的活動,所以就自動幫在世界各地的家人都做了輸出檔:

However, I found out there is already an event for oversea Taiwanese, so I made the print out files for my family.

#LoveWins4Taiwan

後來也在當天趕工,做了自己的版本:

Moreover, I made my version.

彩虹階梯的圖來自 Kelvin Lin 分享在 FB 上的封面相片圖,已取得他本人授權使用這個概念。

The illustration idea was inspired by Kelvin Lin.

「婚姻平權」這四個字,因為忘記字體加上本身也沒有這套字體的正版(後來在字嗨社團上詢問到是蒙納超剛黑),所以設計師職業病的用向量描繪這四個字:

Because I do not have the legal font to use, I illustrate the word “婚姻平權.”

向量繪製 蒙納超剛黑 字體

中文排版希望呈現比較正方的整體感,所以嘗試了不同文案後,使用:

我在墨爾本,我支持台灣,婚姻平權。

英文的部分,想過很多版本。

因為很喜歡 New York Times 這篇新聞最後的結語,所以一開始寫成超長的:

I support Taiwan to become another nation to recognize that love is love, regardless of sexual orientation.

主要是覺得如果只寫 marriage equality,感覺沒有直接解釋到宗旨,比較像是一個標題。

後來詢問了在國外工作的朋友,他建議我可以直接用 Same-Sex Marriage ,這樣外國人一看就懂了。

也有朋友建議我可以寫:

I support the legalization of same-sex marriage in Taiwan.

最後的版本,我自己選擇比較口語化的:

I am in Melbourne. I support Taiwan to legalize same-sex marriage.

輸出版本採用白底,因為不確定澳洲輸出是否會色差太大。六色色階也採用比較飽和的配色,因為怕太粉色系,拍照時容易不清楚。

花了一個早上的時間做完標語,到市區的輸出店輸出了A4彩印(一張 AUD 0.75 ,折合新台幣18元一張),然後發現墨爾本買個雙面膠都要 AUD 6 塊起跳(一條台幣150 元起),跑了兩間文具店,最後才想到市中心有日本大創,買到兩塊多澳幣的雙面膠,晚上回家立馬加工貼在紙板上。

咖啡廳 / 咖啡街 / 塗鴉街 / 塗鴉街 / 夏日夜市

隔天 1208 便開始去市區走景點。

一開始的想法是到各處景點拍照,把生活中會去的點記錄下來,像是車站、夏日夜市、常去的咖啡店,還有比較著名的咖啡街、塗鴉街。

On 08 Dec. I went to different place to take photos.

1208 週四晚間剛好是 UX Design 年末的大聚會,當天下午帶著板子去了不同點,晚上直接參加聚會。社交對才剛來一個月的我來說其實還是滿困難的,但是後來有朋友建議我可以用這個議題當切入點,所以我就用這塊板子,嘗試去打入不同的圈圈。

我分享了台灣這一個月來的婚姻平權議題,詢問他們是否支持這個理念,如果願意了話請跟我合拍一張照片,和我一起用行動支持在台灣的朋友。

At night, I joined a UX Design meet up — UX 2016 Wrap Up Drinks.
I shared the same-sex marriage issue that happens in Taiwan right now. And asked them if they agree with this topic, could they take the photo with me to show the support for my friends in Taiwan?

很感謝當天跟我合照的新朋友,大家的反應也都很熱情!

有人熱心的建議我假日可以去不同的地方持續這件事,並推薦哪些地點人比較多適合去走走。也有人因此延伸了不同的話題,像是:「為什麼澳洲目前同性戀婚姻尚未合法化?」「宗教對這個議題的影響。」

真的非常感謝聽我分享台灣故事的各位!

I am grateful for everyone took the pictures and shared their point of view in this issues with me.

Thank you! My new friends in Melbourne.

對於公共事務的題外話。

Another story about joins the public issue.

之前看了呂秋遠律師分享的這則文章

我媽當時問我們,看了這篇之後有被說服想回台灣嗎?

My mother asked my brother and me if we want to move back to Taiwan after saw this article.

我弟身為第三年的留學生回答:「最終還是會想回台灣。」但是他開玩笑的補充:「希望可以領澳洲的薪水,享受台灣的物價。」

My little brother as a third-years oversea student, he said “Eventually, I want to. However, if I can earn the salary as Australian standard and spend that money on Taiwan’s commodity price will be better. (LoL)”

但才剛開始當留學生的我,很直接的回答:「完全不會。」

I answered my mom “Totally not.”

對我來說,在國外還是可以參與公共事務,只是你有沒有行動去做些什麼的差異而已。你不會因此錯過這項活動,而是可以用自己的方式去支持公同的理念。

For me, although we will miss the chances to attend to public activities that happening in our country, we still can do different things to support the beliefs.

但我相信這句「這塊土地愛你」,因為當你在國外累的時候,可以和台灣人聚聚,一起聊各種台灣事。在異地用母語談天說地,反而是一種小確幸。因為人都希望找到自己有共鳴的群體。

However, I believe he said that “the island loves you.” When you out there, try to use the second language to communicate every day. It is happiness that you can find someone to talk in your mother tongue. People love to be in a group in common.

台灣在國際間的關係很微妙,所以我一直覺得,如果所有人都只留在台灣,那誰負責走出去讓世界看到我們?

Taiwan has an awkward international position. I always think if everyone stay in Taiwan, who has the responsibility to go out and let more people know about us?

也許出國留學是我自己個人的夢想,是我自己想挑戰自己。

Maybe study abroad is my personal dream that I want to challenge myself.

但是我也帶著一點小理想,認為與其一直留在台灣抱怨台灣哪裡不好,不如去國外走走,去訴說自己的故鄉有什麼故事,給更多人知道台灣在哪、我們面對的什麼樣的問題。

However, I also have an ideal. Instead of complaining about our country, we should just go out to see the world. Try to talk our story about Taiwan. Let them know where we are. What kind of issues we have.

因為當你開始去交流,你才會發現國外也不是什麼問題都沒有。

When you start communicating, you will find out every country has their problems.

世界很大,不管身在何處,都一起加油

No matter where we are, we still work this together!

My handwriting.

我會繼續帶著板子到處拍照,會持續更新在相簿中:

I will keep updating the newest photos:

https://www.facebook.com/jenna141029/media_set?set=a.1385600024813730.1073741836.100000912385691&type=3&uploaded=20

Love Wins for Taiwan :)

--

--

Jenna Lin
Minor Point

A Senior UX/UI Designer with a product mindset. 🖋 A Calligrapher 12 Nov 2015. 🐾 I am always reaching up to my very best.