Mintlayer Shout-Out Series

Where we take time to showcase our individual Community members!

Jean-Marc Griffith
mintlayer
Published in
5 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Our community interviews are open and honest conversations, which may include tips and feedback with fun stories; and personal experiences from within our ecosystem and the wider crypto space.

Disclaimer: Please note that none of the views shared during this interview, are to be interpreted as financial advice. All views expressed are shared for information purposes only.

What to expect

We often talk a lot about the Mintlayer ecosystem and our advantages for Bitcoin’s development; so we’ve decided to open up the floor to our community members.

This series is an opportunity for everyone to learn from the community’s approach, mindset and experience.

In this interview we chat with Yury, one of our Telegram Community members.

Today, Yury has the floor. The interview below is unedited — Yury speaks from his own point of view.

Hello and welcome Yury! Please, tell us a little about yourself.

Yury: Hello everyone, my name is Yury and I currently live in Russia. Throughout my life, I’ve been involved in some form of engineering. Over the past nine years, I have been working for companies in the oil and gas sector here in Russia.. My hobbies include basketball and photography, however about two years ago, I started to take an interest in crypto.

Why did you get into crypto?

Yury: Thinking back, I would say I first heard about crypto as a college student. Back then I never thought that crypto would have a future or be something with such a high demand. Oh how I wish I knew BTC would cross $60K fifteen years ago, haha)))

It was only in 2020 that I realized crypto could provide a good opportunity for financial independence. So I decided to jump in and started by buying hyped cryptocurrencies. For most of these, it wasn’t the best moment. I have now come to understand that it is better to join a project at the early stages of development. As such, I started searching for early stage projects which is what led me to Mintlayer..

How did you find Mintlayer originally?

Yury: I first heard about Mintlayer about a year ago from a crypto info channel. I decided to take a look and liked the idea and all I was able to learn from the website (all things are very well described) . Also it was nice to see that the founder, Enrico Rubboli, already had experience working with a stable coin to his name.

What is your overall view of Mintlayer and its Community?

Yury: Overall I’d say that the project is still under development. I like that the team has regular AMAs as it shows their serious attitude to the project. There’s still a long way to go.

Who is your favourite moderator?

Yury: All of the moderators do a great job. They are all very polite and always ready to help.

What events or upcoming activities are you looking forward to at Mintlayer? Why do these excite you?

Yury: Oh… I guess this is my favorite question! From my time in the space, the main reason why people don’t trust new projects is the possibility of scamming from the team. I have personal experience when I bought coins after AMAs and promises, that after some time the tokens were drained by the team.

Since having this experience, it is very difficult for me to trust someone I don’t know. That’s why all upcoming Mintlayer events are important for me.

Which channel delivers the best Mintlayer updates for you?

Yury: I would say the best information source for me is Telegram as I already spend all day there. Also, I can always ask any questions if I have them.

How long is your investment timeline for Mintlayer?

Yury: For me of course I’d want to get profit as fast as possible, but when you are dealing with a future product that is sustainable, it is normal to wait for a slightly longer period.

So, I am not here for a short period. It is important for holders not to lose their interest. There’s been a step by step implementation of the roadmap plans and, despite the negative experience I’ve had with other projects, I believe that the Mintlayer team can deliver

Have you taken part in Mintlayer’s testnet & mainnet opportunities?

Yury: Yes, I have already taken part in the testnet and I am currently staking on the mainnet.

Any closing thoughts or ideas to share with the Mintlayer team?

Yury: In my opinion, one aspect that I think is not being given much attention at the moment is marketing. I understand that without a complete product it is difficult to attract new people. That is why we need to implement features as soon as possible and ensure that it is heavily marketed.

Thank you Yury for sharing your story and thoughts about Mintlayer

Interview ends

About Mintlayer

Mintlayer is a Bitcoin layer 2 sidechain, that enables developers to build a decentralized financial ecosystem without straining the Bitcoin Network. Mintlayer unlocks Bitcoin to Decentralized Finance, Real World Asset Tokenization, Smart Contracts, Atomic Swaps, NFTs, and dApps.

Mintlayer enables native Bitcoin use within DeFi applications by using Atomic Swaps which negates the need for wrapped tokens. Mintlayer’s unique approach introduces unprecedented security, removing the need for intermediaries and complex mechanisms such as peg-in, wrapped, or federated tokens. This eliminates counterparty risk, reduces friction and provides true token interoperability

Mintlayer’s Mojito wallet is a BTC wallet with extended functionalities.

We give developers the tools to build on Bitcoin and user’s the ability to achieve more with their BTC!!

To find out more about Mintlayer, check out the links below:

Website TwitterTelegramDiscordGitHub

--

--

Jean-Marc Griffith
mintlayer

Every action in our lives, touches a chord that will vibrate into eternity...