Blake Lively Met Gala 2022

sarah rocchio
Mirror Image
Published in
1 min readJun 27, 2022

what is this fashion object?

where is it now and how did it get there?

what is this fashion object’s material function?

  • I was created to be a transformation dress. As Blake traveled up the Met steps, she untied the bow in the middle of me and revealed a teal/blue layer of me
  • the specific details of me create a similar look to the empire state building

what is this fashion object’s emotional function?

  • While Blake Lively stayed on top of the “gilded glamour” theme wearing me, I was also meant to represent the city of New York. The transformation from one part of me to the teal/blue/green part of me was a direct line up to the Statue of Liberty. To complete me, she added a tiara similar to the Statue of Liberty. Her accessories matched up to the role of Lady Liberty .

who made, owned or used the object?

  • I was made by Versace
  • I was worn by Blake Lively

--

--