Jennifer Lopez’s Green Versace Dress

Elliehonig
Mirror Image
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2022

Why did so many react to me? It was because I was a new revelation for a new century. I was merely a last minute-outfit choice to be worn by the infamous star, Jennifer Lopez; so what made me so iconic?

It was supposed to be only a music awards ceremony, but by the end of the night most of the attention was directed towards me- a green silk chiffon Versace jungle dress with a never-ending neckline. It was quite a scandalous start to the new year.

I never had known before I was going to be worn by the big star herself until the day of the awards. I remember being surrounded by concerned faces and multiple dresses with me. It seemed Lopez could not stun herself or anyone until I was worn; shown by the gasps and awe of the room when I was finally put on. It was not just from my fabulous silk material and jungle pattern, but also Lopez’s exposed cleavage and a bellow button which left a little to the imagination.

The awards ceremony had a more exciting reaction to give me. As we had walked onto the stage, I could hear the murmurs of the audience. I did not just receive shocked stares while on stage, but on the red carpet too. People were yelling and buzzing all about the provocative effect I was giving. No one had ever seen a fashion statement such as mine before. Lopez could not even wrap her head around the jaw-dropping reactions of me.

Due to Jennifer Lopez showing me off to the world, I was able to change the mindset of fashion in a lot of ways. I created a new genre of more provocative and revealing fashion that could affect people’s views on fashion. However, nothing could change the fact that I became a iconic dress that truly shocked the world.

--

--