Concept art for Codex: a language-learning game for browser and tablet

Aurelius
Miscellaneous Meditations
2 min readApr 15, 2020

Last year, I began developing a proposal for a language-learning game based on the platformer genre: a game so fun that people would actually want to use it (unlike most of the apps I’ve tried up to this point). I have given it the provisional title of Codex, and when I submit my thesis at the end of June, my aim is to turn it into a viable startup (all international travel plans having regrettably been dashed at this stage).

Here is a little bit of concept art I whipped up this morning to show what the gameplay might look like:

Basic kanji challenge.

Jumping on top of the floating kanji Super Mario-style shatters its enclosure, freezing time and causing a set of options to appear. Tap on the correct definition and the kanji explodes, releasing a shower of Exp. Pick a different option, however, and you will take a little bit of damage, as well as receiving less Exp when you do select the right answer.

Levels are procedurally generated to allow for infinite practice, tailored precisely to the needs of the user. The above demonstrates just one of many game mechanics, so I’ll post more pictures in the coming weeks.

--

--

Aurelius
Miscellaneous Meditations

Bringing a philosophical lens to film and literature. Currently writing an MA thesis on historical trauma and the atomic bomb in Japanese animation.