A
Miscellaneous Musings
1 min readFeb 8, 2018

--

I Am Just Your Average Zhou

I like to hum softly when I cook. I like to dance under the lights. I laugh often and smile frequently. I find peace in solidarity and I have ambitions far away from home. I cry when I am sad and fire burns in my cheeks when I am embarrassed.

I was raised to be independent, humble, and honest. I was not to challenge or deny the grace of God or the unconditional love that my parents hold for me. I was encouraged, not pressured, to put forth my best efforts in school and to set my goals amongst the stars.

I am surrounded by those who accept me, those who love me, and those who scorn me. My mother and father are my biggest fans and my sister and brother keep me grounded. The bickering remains constant with the love and my life couldn’t be more blessed

However

Small towns make big issues difficult to discuss. Issues that I vaguely understand myself resurface with every curious soul. I find myself caught inbetween two very different lives yet one I can only reminsce in theory.

I am not ashamed, not the slightest. I am immensely grateful for my life, for my family.

I have pride in my culture, but there is also deep rooted angst.

Why do I pardon her in my heart when the truth has yet to be revealed?

How can one miss a face unknown?

--

--