A rookie’s tool belt for writing Software

Sajid(reznov9185)
Misfit Technologies
2 min readAug 10, 2018
Courtesy: giphy.com

Just a sneak-peak of what’s the root user of my machine is up to.

Playground(Operating Systems)

Linux distros are the sweet spots for me, but I guess where there is a terminal there is a way. When I want something for my machine, I just want the bare version of it as I can run my control strings on top of it. Thanks to my OS for offering that vibe to this control-freak!

Gig(Terminal)

Terminal is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in. I prefer tmux(a terminal multiplexer); Why won’t you have like, a tons of homes to chill where you can switch to any of them any time, easy peasy!

$ oh my zsh my experience with it is so far just as per their motto, “Your terminal never felt this good before.” As a noob I love the agnoster theme with some tweaks too.

$ fzf a command-line fuzzy finder written mostly on golang which is fast and very easy to swap between multiple list of previous ran command from the terminal.

$ fasd a terminal tool for quick jumping around files and directories. Found it very handy when I am half asleep in the morning and just started the day with a cuppa tea; it really feels like a hell lot of work to move from directories to directories when just an alias like `z` can do it for you!

ProTip!
Put all these configuration files(i.e. .bashrc, .zshrc, .bash_history,
.zsh_history…) into git repository(private repo recommended!) with maybe a bash script to download and configure these required tools. This will provide you with the blessings like having a machine and magically make if feel like home!

LCARS(Editors/IDEs)

As this is from a rookie, I know that using vim can be crazy productive but I am not fluent in that yet(yes, I know how to quit vim). I love intelliJ IDEs. Warning: I use these IDEs just as an editor not for anything else! The integrated debugger of these IDEs can kill your whole day with some crazy bugs of it’s own. So I run almost every other servers, services and tools from the tmux sessions.

One last thing, these tools I bragged about here are completely based on my personal preferences and habits. If you have some suggestions or opinions please don’t hesitate to mention those here.

I am also thinking about concatenating the title with “or just being lazy”. I am here on twitter: https://twitter.com/sajid9185.

Kudos.

--

--

Sajid(reznov9185)
Misfit Technologies

A mere homo sapiens with a paradoxical soul driven by quantum events.