Blog Introduction

Rebca van de Ven
MISTI Italy Summer 2018
2 min readJun 13, 2018

It’s been a week since I took off from Bucharest, landed in Milan, somehow managed to haul my suitcase onto a bus from the airport to the central train station, and in a mix of poor Italian and English bought a ticket to Gavirate. This summer, I am working at the European Commission Joint Research Center close to Ispra, and living in Gavirate.

Ispra is a small town on the eastern coast of Lago (Lake) Maggiore in the lake region of North-Western Italy. Gavirate is a slightly bigger town 9 kilometers (5.5 miles) away from Ispra on the northern coast of Lago (Lake) Varese, which is named after the Province of Varese that both Ispra and Gavirate are in. Varese is also the name of the capital city of the province.

The area is absolutely beautiful (when it’s sunny). The lakes are all a gorgeous clear blue, and there is an abundance of trees, flowers, and gardens. The region is also surrounded by mountains. To the north, east, and west are the Swiss Alps, and slightly further south is the start of the Apennine Mountains, a mountain range that goes down the length of peninsular Italy.

I am really excited about spending my summer here — all the experiences I’ll have, people I’ll meet, and places I’ll travel to. I hope to use this blog as a way to document my summer, so hopefully I’ll post often. I also plan to add related photos to every post, at the bottom of the actual post, so scroll down for photos.

Train station and church of Gavirate.
The street to the train station and church in Gavirate.
Lago (Lake) Varese.

--

--