Rappu For You

Anvit Garg
Exploring the Land of the Rising Sun
2 min readSep 4, 2018

We were in Japan

Me and my Minerva clan

Shimokitazawa was our hood

We ate more onegiris than one should

Shibuya never sleeps

Went there to party with my Japanese peeps

We did a crazy thing or two

Climbed mighty Fuji, as a storm blew

We were caught in a typhoon

Couldn’t even see the moon

Should I even talk about the heat?

Could cook eggs on the concrete

Ramen, gyoza, takoyaki — to name a few

Never run out of food to try, can you

I got lost at the 12 floored Uniqlo

So many things to buy, I know

The Ginza line is packed

But the train’s always on time, 9:24 to be exact

Family Mart, 7-Eleven, Lawson you name it

Spent more time there than the office, I’ll admit

We got robotic toilets, buttons everywhere

You might get too comfy in it, beware!

So I ask where’s my strong zero

At the club in Roppongi, I’m a superhero

Lost my Suica card more than thrice,

Rejected 20 taxis after hearing the 5000 yen price!

I saw so many temples and shrines

Couldn’t read any billboards or signs

I ask, where is my matcha at?

Gotta talk to my pet beetle, he loves to chat

The Shinkansen was sleek

Airplanes are an antique

There was Hakone, Kyoto, Osaka

Did you know Tokyo has more people than Dhaka?

Where do stop?

Where do I begin?

Restricting a country like Japan to a few words,

Would be a cardinal sin!

--

--