Lost in the Asking

Freedom Preetham
Misty Vignettes
Published in
2 min readOct 13, 2023

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

Cause they start crying with pain on the state of the world.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

For words are but echoes, in vast canyons they’re hurled.

.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

Cause humanity’s compass has lost its true north.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

For trauma’s deep rivers have altered our course.

.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

Cause moral lines blur, and clarity’s light dims.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

In a world where hope’s candle flickers and thins.

.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

Cause innocence is stolen, before life can bloom.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

For the world’s heavy sorrows cast shadows of gloom.

.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

Cause the world’s chaos silences the soul’s gentle song.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

Wondering where love and kindness have gone.

.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

For we tread on thin ice, over depths so profound.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

In a world so askew, where true peace isn’t found.

.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

For the world’s vast expanse, leaves us feeling so far.

I have stopped asking people, how are you doing?

Cause none of us have a clue, who we are!

.

~ Freedom

--

--