Introducing the 2016 MIT IDE Inclusive Innovation Competition Finalists

MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy
2 min readSep 6, 2016


Jorgen Kesseler via flickr + IIC

The MIT IDE Inclusive Innovation Competition celebrates organizations that create economic opportunity in the digital era.

Thanks to our group of Judges, who delivered over one thousand reviews, we have identified our first official class of IIC Finalists — 24 organizations that are inventing a more inclusive, productive, and sustainable future for all.

We are pleased to announce the following Award Candidates, all of which support people who earn middle- and base-level incomes. Each of these Candidates will receive a prize in one of four categories (Skills, Matching, Humans + Machines, and New Models) or a Judges’ Choice award.

99 Degrees Custom (@99Custom)

Bottom Line (@BottomLineMA)

Coding Dojo (@codingdojo) (@teamcoworker)

Destácame (@destacameCL)

digitalundivided (@DigUnDiv)

doctHERs (@DoctHERs)

Duolingo (@duolingo)

eKutir (@eKutirSB)

General Assembly (@GA)

Ignitia AB (@IgnitiaWeather)

Iora Health (@iorahealth)

Jana (@Jana)

Laboratoria (@LaboratoriaLA)

Lead Genius (@LeadGenius)

Rethink Robotics (@RethinkRobotics)

Rural Sourcing Inc. (@RuralSourcing)


Skills for Chicagoland’s Future (@SCFJobs)

Soko, Inc. (@Shop_Soko)

StartUp Box (@startupboxSBx)

uAspire (@uAspire)

Viridis Learning (@viridis)

Year Up (@YearUp)

To learn more about these organizations, please visit

All Finalists will be awarded $25,000. Four Grand Prize Winners will be selected and announced on September 27 at the IIC Awards Ceremony at the MIT Media Lab to receive an additional $100,000 Prize. The IIC Awards Celebration, hosted by IDE director Prof. Erik Brynjolfsson and IDE co-director Andrew McAfee, is free and open to the public. To register, visit

Throughout the month of September, we will spotlight each Finalist’s work and video on Twitter. Follow us at @MIT_IIC .



MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy

The Inclusive Innovation Challenge awards one million dollars to organizations that are solving a grand challenge of our time — to reinvent the future of work.