Why We Can’t Quit the QWERTY Keyboard

We’ve been using it to type for 144 years. Here’s why it works, and what it would take for us to give it up

MIT Technology Review
MIT Technology Review

--

Image: Evan Cohen

By Rachel Metz

Tap is a one-handed gadget that fits over your fingers like rubbery brass knuckles and connects wirelessly to your smartphone. It’s supposed to free you from clunky physical keyboards and act as a go-anywhere typing interface. A promotional video shows smiling people wearing Tap and typing with one hand on a leg, on an arm, and even (perhaps jokingly) on some guy’s forehead.

Seems like a great idea, right? But when I tried it, the reality of using Tap was neither fun nor funny. Unlike a conventional QWERTY keyboard, Tap required me to think a lot, because I had to tap my fingers in not-very-intuitive combinations to create letters: an A is your thumb, a B is your index finger and pinky, a C is all your fingers except the index.

Photos: Tap Systems Inc

I memorized these combinations by playing simple letter-choosing games in an app, but it was quickly exhausting. It was almost impossible to type on my thigh, or on any surface that wasn’t flat and solid. My most verbose…

--

--

MIT Technology Review
MIT Technology Review

Reporting on important technologies and innovators since 1899