Why did we join TechX?

Margaret Tian
TechX
Published in
4 min readSep 9, 2016

Fall applications for TechX have recently opened, and as we welcome a new group of members, a few members and I want to reflect on why we joined TechX and what we’ve gotten out of it. If you’re thinking about applying, hopefully our experiences can help guide your decision.

Margaret Tian, Managing Director, Class of 2018 (Me!)

I wish I had a grand story about joining TechX, but I don’t. In fact, I joined completely on a whim. As a freshman, I had no idea what I wanted to do. All I knew was that I liked planning things, so hey, xFair logistics seemed pretty cool. Looking back, I can safely say that joining TechX has been one of my best decisions. That may sound incredibly cheesy, but I have learned more about handling responsibility, facing the unexpected with composure, working with others, and gaining a team’s respect than I could have imagined. I’ve made both incredible friends and memories. I know that the skills I’ve learned and the people I’ve met will stay with me through my lifetime.

Annie Zhang, Marketing Director, Class of 2019:

My favorite middle school teacher told me once, “Find the things that change, move, and matter — be a part of them.” I largely forgot about this piece of advice until I got to MIT.

TechX was the first club I joined here. To be completely honest, I didn’t really know what TechX was when I applied. However, I did know that everyone I talked to about it was really excited and deeply passionate about. I immediately had a hunch that this student group “empowering students through technology” was one of the things that matter, and I was determined to find a way to be a part of it. I applied very last minute (because who is actually good at time management) and had an interview the next day. I have no idea how I got in, but I ended up spending an incredible year with the xFair Logistics team and the Marketing team.

I was so surprised that as a freshman, I was pretty much allowed to take the lead on xFair branding and make big decisions about what the event should look like. I was even the lead on designing and making the xFair paper airplane hack in the student center. I never expected to have so much autonomy and to be able to take leadership roles as a freshmen. When the day of xFair finally came, I realized that all the work we had done through the year actually had such a huge impact on all the companies and students who went to xFair. One year ago, I would have doubted you if you said that a freshman could help organize a completely student-run career fair and tech expo, but now I realize that TechX members are not running events at this scale several times a year, but they’re also doing an incredible job of innovating on these events each year.

Looking back, I can definitely say that TechX is one of those things that “change, move, and matter” especially to the student body at MIT. I’m so lucky that I had the opportunity to be a part of it, and I’m really looking forward to what the new year brings for TechX and MIT!

Anna Sappington, xFair Logistics Director, Class of 2019:

Anyone who has come to MIT as a freshman will agree: Activities Midway is complete sensory overload. The event, which occurs before the start of fall classes, brings together the hundreds of diverse student groups on campus in one room. Last fall, I visited perhaps 30 booths and left with bags filled with free swag. Amongst the madness, the TechX booth stood out from all the rest; you could just tell how genuinely excited the students there were about improving campus life for their peers through tech events. Never in a million years did I imagine I’d get in, but low and behold after a Friday night info session and an application polished and submitted 4 hours later, I had myself an interview for the xFair Logistics committee and then became a member. TechX has really become such a hard-working and supportive family during my time here at MIT. I just can’t imagine MIT without these crazy, passionate, and inspirational coworkers I call my friends.

Kimberli Zhong, HackMIT Director, Class of 2018:

I did a lot of robotics in high school, and I thought I was pretty techy when I came to MIT. One of my life hacks was using an NFC, or near-field communication, ring to unlock my phone (similar to the technology in the ID card you tap). During my CPW, an upperclassman saw my hand with the obviously ugly ring on it and asked me what it was. I explained it, and he immediately told me, “You should totally join TechX.”

I dragged my CPW friends to info sessions that weekend and saw how awesome and enthusiastic TechX members were. They told me about all the cool stuff they did on campus, talked about the impact of their events, gave me useful life advice — and I was sold. I’m so glad Jennifer and Katie (past HackMIT directors) saw something in me and decided to take a chance on me. It’s cheesy, but TechX has really defined my time at MIT so far. I’ve met and worked with so many amazing people because of that fateful turn of events.

— — —

Whatever our reasons were for joining TechX, we’ve all had great experiences. If you’re a MIT student looking to learn new skills and bring some high impact events to campus, please apply at techx.mit.edu!

--

--