Software Engineering

10 Lead Software Developer Principles

Easily applicable principles, practices, and standards most developers should adopt.

Nicklas Millard
Mjukvare Engineering
6 min readJan 4, 2024

--

I’ve collected a few principles I often use actively in my day-to-day work as a lead software developer. The principles are listed at random and some may even be conflicting, nevertheless, they’re all helpful and easily applied.

Be a domain expert.

Do you know how hard it is to produce working, quality software without being an expert in the business that you’re writing code for?

You probably do know. Developers often work with businesses and domains they know nothing about. But let me tell you, domain expertise trumps technical knowledge in the majority of cases.

Having only technical knowledge you’ll be able to do the wrong thing technically correct, which is worse than doing nothing.

Seek all the domain knowledge you can. Soak it up. Write it down. Keep it at hand, all the time.

🔔 Want more articles like this? Sign up here.

Small over large.

This goes for a lot of things. It’s way easier to build small features over large ones. It’s easier to develop in…

--

--

Nicklas Millard
Mjukvare Engineering

I mostly write to "future me" sharing what I learn and my opinion on software development practices. youtube.com/@nmillard | open for contracts in Jan 2026.