How to Install and Set up Ubuntu 20.04 on an Old MacBook Pro

A mostly complete guide to Ubuntu on MacBook Pro

Shinichi Okada
mkdir Awesome

--

Image by the author using Teffects shadow2.

Introduction

It’s handy to have different OSs on hand when you develop and test your code. I have an old MacBook and I decided to install Ubuntu.

This article shows you how to install Ubuntu 20.04 on a 2015 MacBook Pro and setting up Ubuntu similar to a MacBook configuration. It won’t cover a dual boot installation. macOS and all the data will be erased during the Ubuntu installation.

Installing Ubuntu 20.04 on MacBook Pro

My old MacBook Pro has a 2.7 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5 with 8 GB memory.

My old MacBook Pro has a 2.7 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5 with 8 GB memory.
My old MacBook Pro has a 2.7 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5 with 8 GB memory. A screenshot by the author.

Backup

Back up all the data you need from the MacBook Pro.

A memory stick

I used an 8 GB memory stick to transfer the Ubuntu Desktop ISO image.

--

--

Shinichi Okada
mkdir Awesome

A programmer and technology enthusiast with a passion for sharing my knowledge and experience. https://codewithshin.com