How to Style Suede Loafers with Beckett Simonon

Tailor & Barber
3 min readDec 6, 2019

--

How to Style Suede Loafers with Beckett Simonon

*Disclosure: Beckett Simonon provided the suede loafers for this post.*

When one thinks of fall footwear, boots are usually are the forefront of that thought process. Well, loyal reader, I am here to tell you there is another option. Sometimes I don’t want to wear a boot. Sometimes I just need a shoe. The weather is nice, and the ground is not laden with snow or standing water from a recent rainfall. On those days, I reach for a pair of loafers, particularly suede loafers. They’re ideal for fall; Suede loafers are warm and can handle some water quite well, provided you care for them.

Most (not all) suede loafers come in colors like brown and snuff (think dark tan, chestnut, etc.), and they tend to be more casual. However, I think guys are at a loss when it comes to styling these shoes, but they’re only making it more complicated than it has to be. Suede loafers go with pretty much anything. Pair them with a suit if you want it to be a bit more casual. For a middle of the spectrum outfit, sport your loafers with some trousers or cords. If you’re looking for that casual, weekend style, throw them on with a pair of jeans. Just be sure to wear lighter loafers with lighter jeans and darker loafers with darker jeans. I’m not a fan of tan paired with dark blue (but that’s a different post for another time).

Personally, I prefer to wear my loafers on the more casual side. They’re meant to be a relaxed shoe, and I like to keep it that way. I think if you’re going to wear a suit, use more casual fabrics and casual details like patch pockets and cuffed trousers. However, I usually wear lace-ups with my suits, or at least calf leather loafers, but that’s all really just a matter of personal preference.

The shoes in this post were provided by one of my favorite shoe brands, Beckett Simonon, and I would be remiss if I didn’t give a little credit to these specific loafers. Like my other Beckett Simonon shoes, these loafers were quite comfortable out of the box due to the recraftable Blake-Rapid stitched soles. They’re well-made with quality materials. And one of the best things about Beckett Simonon is their approach to environmentally conscious and ethical manufacturing. They pay a fair wage and offer benefits for their employees. Their made-to-order (MTO) business model eliminates costs and environmental impact. If I had one issue with these loafers, it’s that I would like to see a sharper “penny slot”. The round oval isn’t my favorite shape, and I would prefer one more angular, but that’s a minor detail. I used these shoes to put together two outfits, one casual one more moderate.

How to Style Suede Loafers

Casual

Jeans: imogene + willie // Sweater: Spier & Mackay // Shirt: Brooks Brothers

Loafers: Beckett Simonon // Socks: Corgi // Sunglasses: Persol

Dressier

Trousers: Suitsupply // Shirt: Harvie & Hudson // Sweater: J. Crew

Loafers: Beckett Simonon // Socks: Pedemeia // Watch: Bulova

--

--

Tailor & Barber

A men's style and grooming blog, focusing on helping men find the best look for them and explaining some of the best grooming techniques for men.