Minnesota to D.C. Carbon Free — Intro

Leonardo Rapallini
Minnesota to D.C. Carbon Free
2 min readMay 24, 2019

A Father-Daughter Road Trip

Two Italian dads (Fede and Leo) and their two 5th grade climate activist daughters (Aryanna and Elena) attempt a road trip from Minnesota to D.C. with an electric car.

They are on a mission to lobby Congress to take action on climate change. Are they going to succeed in making the trip carbon free? Follow their adventure!

Here’s the crew:

Fede, Leo, Elena and Aryanna

Aryanna: I wanted to go to D.C. because I knew it would make a difference. After fundraising for organizations fighting climate change, I was ready to start talking to people who could make a difference. I am excited to bring my friend Elena along with me and I am happy that we get to go in an electric car because it’s carbon free. We will play a lot of card-games, sudoku, eat snacks, sleep and play together.

Elena: Climate change is very important to me because it will affect my future. I think going to D.C. will help because we will talk to people who are capable of making a change. I will learn how to talk to crowds and important people, and I will have to be flexible and have a positive attitude. Another plus is that I will be with my best friend Aryanna and my dad is great friends with Federico!

Fede: when Aryanna asked me to go to D.C. to tell our lawmakers to take action on climate change, I jumped at the opportunity. The climate crisis will affect generations to come, and I wanted to do something to empower my daughter to be a change maker. Then I got the idea to ask my friend Leo to do it as a road trip in his electric car. So here we are, road trip to D.C. baby!

Leo: my friend Fede got me into this. He was planning to go with his daughter Aryanna to D.C. and he came up with the idea to try to do it carbon-free. I loved the idea of a road trip and I loved the idea to try to do it with an electric car and prove it is possible. Yes, that’s the geeky side of me. And yes, at heart, I am an engineer.

--

--