Learning Mobile Development

A Bug that Wasted Half My Day Debugging in Android Studio!

I never have imagined it’s just such a simple bug actually

Photo by Julian Hanslmaier on Unsplash

Having more than 7 years of experience in Android, makes me feel confident in my knowledge in this area. But today, I feel so embarrassed not able to figure out such a simple issue. I almost wanted to pull my hair out when I discover that.

Let me bring you through the journey, and see if your thought process is the same as mine…

It started with just an Activity

To save some time, I just get on to the most basic form of how I replicate this strange issue.

All I need to do is just create an Empty Activity project and Logcat onCreate, onStart, onResume, onPause, onStop, onSaveInstanceState, and onDestroy.

A sample just below

class MainActivity : AppCompatActivity() {
override fun onCreate(savedInstanceState: Bundle?) {
super.onCreate(savedInstanceState)
Log.d("Tracking", "onCreate")
setContentView(R.layout.activity_main)
}
// Other codes
}

To my surprise, I discovered that one a single launch, multiple instances of…

--

--