Into Android Things with zero IoT knowledge.

If you are an Android Developer, and looking for the simplest way to get into AndroidThing, without need to worry too much about hardware… this will be for you!

My Phobia of Hardware

I learnt a little electronic when was young, and had been burned by soldering. I attend conference talks on IoT, and every talks share about the boards, the wiring etc. These scares me off, as I don’t want to deal with wire connections issue, connecting jumpers, looking at complex data sheets.

I’m just an Android Mobile Developer, and getting into AndroidThings, seems like just too much other knowledge that I need to learn to get into it.

But Google has came up with this Android Thing Starter Kit, which is indeed very user friendly for a pure Android Developer to get started with Android Things. It’s like playing Lego Mindstrorms, and all ready to go!

Getting Android Things Starter Kit

I’m fortunate to get one in this in Google IO 2018. You could get it from DigiKey or Tecknexion with a price of $200. It has many things come readily such as

  1. The Mother Board of Pico i.MXDual Development Board. This board has ethernet port, USBC port (to power it up), audio jack port etc.

--

--