Google Bug Discovery

The Crazy Android Fragment Bug I’ve Investigated

Google, it is really a bug and not intended behavior. Please fix it.

Photo by Ryan Snaadt on Unsplash

Fragment in Android is a love-hate feature. Its complicating and confusing lifecycle sometimes makes us wonder when we face an issue, is it our lack of understanding of it, or is it Android’s bug. I’ve list the challenges and bugs discovered in the past in this linked article.

Here, I want to share an Android bug, that I filed to Google, but the Google developer state it is an intended behavior. And after further checking, I clearly think this really an Android Bug!

Do join me in this quest to understand the issue, and test it out. Would love to hear from you if you think this is a bug or an intended behavior.

Knowing about this issue, might save you 2 days puzzling

Hi Chet Haase, Romain Guy, Ian Lake, Yigit Boyar, sorry to ping you here.
Hopes you can check it out. Do let me know if I get any of the below wrong.

It’s actually an easily replicable issue, but it will be very hard to get to the root cause when you first discovered it in a big design. So I made a very simple design to show the issue.

--

--