🤩MDG SoC Experience🤩

Hemil Panchiwala
MDG Space
Published in
4 min readFeb 19, 2020

Last December, it was great fun creating animation libraries for Flutter in MDG Season of Code, which was a great experience. In this blog, I am going to share about my wonderful journey from sending the proposal to getting selected in the Mobile Development Group at IIT Roorkee.

Starting with the proposal which I sent with the idea for creating animation libraries for Flutter. Surprisingly😲, it got selected and I was in for working in MDG SoC😊.

MDG Season of Code Proposal

Planning Phase

In the planning phase, I started exploring the work I had to successfully complete the proposed libraries. I learned about different concepts in Flutter needed for creating animations. Then, I started deciding the algorithms to be used for creating animations in a very basic manner. After deciding the algorithms, I started making the class diagrams for each library showing the complete model of how the libraries would work. All the work for this phase was submitted in a report provided below.

MDG SoC Planning Phase Report

Coding Phase

Woah, I successfully passed the planning phase and now was the real game, the Coding Phase. At the starting of this phase, I discussed with my mentors Ayush Agarwal and Kaustubh Trivedi about how to proceed with the project. And after this, I started with the ExplodeView animation library. I successfully completed the ExplodeView library within my decided timeline. I have also written a blog on how I made ExplodeView with can be found at this link. The code for it can be found out on GitHub and it is also published on pub.dev. I got the awesome response for the library and due to this, I was even more excited for the further libraries.

After successfully building ExplodeView, I started working on my next animation library, SmoothSort. I had started with some different ideas to implement the SmoothSort which is described in the proposal but I had to change the idea which was proposed by my mentors and was making the library even more awesome. So, I implemented SmoothSort in a very short time of four to five days. And it was a great pleasure as I was running ahead of the decided timeline🤩. I implemented it and published it on pub.dev. I wrote a blog on how to use SmoothSort with its best possible use-case and also the code for SmoothSort can be found out at my GitHub.

Finally, I had to make the last library for the Season of Code, the TextLiquidFill. I first decided to make it as a separate package but one of my mentors had built a collection of animation libraries for Text in Flutter and he proposed that it would be a good idea to embed it as a part of the existing Text Animation Library. I even enhanced the features of the existing library and started building the TextLiquidFill. I had faced many difficulties in implementing this animation. One of my mentors, Ayush Agarwal, helped me in finding the solution and then I was successful in implementing the final library for the MDG SoC. I had implemented it in the TextAnimatedKit library which can be found here. It is published on pub.dev and the implementation blog for TextLiquidFill can be found on this link.

With this, I completed the coding phase for the SoC and successfully passed it.

MDG SoC Coding Phase Report

Conclusion

After the completion of the projects successfully, I was called for the interviews and finally after a long wait got selected to Mobile Development Group IIT Roorkee🎉🎉. It was an awesome experience for me throughout the Season of Code and loved to work with the mentors Ayush Agarwal and Kaustubh Trivedi.

Animation Libraries articles

--

--