Xation -Agra’s Food and Guide App

Mini Agarwal
MDG Space
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2020

Motivation behind Xation

Why is Xation needed? There are two reasons for that -

  1. To unveil the hidden and tasty gems of Agra. Dinners are opening every day in Agra, overwhelming the people. So we took it on our shoulders to help them to choose the best. We approached all the tastiest gems (thanks to our food bloggers for that) and asked them to provide exciting discounts to our customers.
  2. Now and then, cafes are offering offers and organizing food events. A platform was needed to handle that (until now, they have been relying on pamphlets and social media pages). This is another feature offered by Xation.

How the idea was developed.

It all started with a phone call.

2 years back, when I was in my final year of BTech, I got a phone call from my long time friend. He wanted an app to provide discounts at different cafes in Agra. I tried to make something, but since the idea was not that clear, it became a bit of a mess, and I abandoned the idea.
But that friend of mine was very dedicated to his idea. He decided to give discount booklets a chance. He printed about 2000 booklets and distributed them all over Agra.

The Booklet looked like this -

It was quite a success. Since the number of customers was increasing, it became challenging to manage all the discount coupons. So, some application was needed, and so he contacted me again, and since I was somewhat free at that time, I decided to give it a go. By this time, the idea had become quite clear, and so in this way, the app came to life.

My Experience with SOC

Now, you must also be thinking how MDG, IITR helped me out in this, so here is the thing,

  1. MDG helped me polish the app and make it production-ready.
  2. Gave me feedback about which feature is necessary and which is not. In the starting, I was obsessing over features that were not required and were taking lots of time to implement. They helped me prioritize them.
  3. They asked me to make a timeline and define milestones for the development, which made me complete the app on time.

How the app works-

You might want to download the app if

  1. You are a citizen or a visitor to Agra.
  2. You are a foodie.
  3. And of course, want great discounts ;-)

Currently the app is present on Playstore.

Xation

About 45 cafe’s and restaurants are already with Xation along with 2 Salons with a user base of more than 1K (thanks to our excellent marketing team).

Future of Xation

About the future, we are planning to add different services apart from cafes and salons like movie theaters, footwear shop, Gold and ornaments shop, and many small services unknown to the public of Agra.

Xation can prove as a blessing for those who are getting lost in the age of online shopping.

--

--