Mobile Me | A day through the eyes of my phone

Frossini Drakouli
Mobile Reputations
Published in
3 min readJan 14, 2019

In the context of the Mobile Reputations, Collaborative Consumption in Sharing Economy course, we were asked by our coordinator Betty Tsakarestou to examine our own daily mobile routine.

My phone is the extension of my hand, without this limiting me from my daily interactions. I use it as a personal assistant, to keep tabs with news, my appointments and to take notes of anything I find interesting throughout the day.

Creativity is an essential part of my interaction with my phone since Photography, Editing apps and Social Media Networks play a crucial role in it. Instagram, Hipstamatic, and VSCO are some of these applications that let me use my smartphone in a creative way.
Also, when it comes to creative writing, I prefer the application Bear, since it is clean cut, easy to use and distraction free.

When it comes to Health & Sports, Runtastic and Nike Run Club are really helpful since they not only track your km, speed, and pace, they also form communities of Runners all over the world. This helps the Runners’ Communities in every city to always be informed about new runs and to run physically or virtually together.

My favorite chatting app is Whats App, for its easy to use interface and since it is helpful for business purposes. At the same time, my second favorite chatting app is Facebook’s Messenger, while I believe that features that are available for Facebook’s WorkChat, should be available for Messenger too.

I use my phone most of the day, while the first thing I do when I wake up is to check my Notifications and my Instagram & Facebook Feed.
Throughout the day, I read articles (New Yorker Daily, The Guardian, New York Times), I watch movies/series on Netflix mostly when commuting and now and then refresh the Instagram & Facebook Feed. Spotify plays a key role in my day since I use it to listen to music even when I am commuting or at work.

Connectivity is a great accommodation that comes with Apple devices. My iPhone and MacBook are always connected and when I want to work on something from my computer that I was previously working on from my Phone, I simply open the same application and I have the same interface to work on.
This also happens with my TV, which even if it doesn’t have Apple TV on it, still the connectability with my phone (for Spotify, YouTube, and Netflix) makes my life easier.

If someone took my phone away from me for a business day, it wouldn’t destroy me but would have a great impact on how I would have to organize my daily schedule. If someone took it while on vacation, I would be more than happy since I would feel not distracted or obligated to check and/or upload something on social media.

--

--

Frossini Drakouli
Mobile Reputations

Feminist, queer, daily-life activist and part-time traveler.