My mobile life

Elena Roussou
Mobile Reputations
Published in
2 min readJan 31, 2016

--

During the time that I attended the “Mobile Reputations Collaborative Consumption in Sharing Economy” class at Panteion University by professor Betty Tsakarestou , I understood that the way I live and act through my mobile and social media, is actually a social-technological phenomenon, experienced by a whole generation, my generation.

I took a step back and watched my everyday behavior, and I realized that I literally live through my phone. Not necessarily in a negative way though. Yes, I understand that it can get addictive and I can get anti-social, but I also feel lucky to be living in a world where you can hold a little machine in your hands and do absolutely everything with it. It makes life easier and more fun. It’s all about control. Each and every one of us have the power to choose the way we act in the mobile world. You can use it efficiently and effectively or you can get addicted and lose yourself in it.

Here is a video that I created about my mobile life and how I act through social media.

Later on, I got to observe how I act and work as a member of a community and how the mobile word affects us as a team. I chose my school team, and after two weeks of observation, we created this video to show everyone our connection through social media.

On the final stage of this course, me and my team got to do a participant observation on another community. We chose to observe Incrediblue, an online platform for quality boating holidays. After a few weeks of observing, we came to conclusions about the way they use social media, the way they build trust amongst them as well as with their partners and potential clients, the ways the share their information and generally how they act in the sharing eonomy. Here is a relative story, that I elaborate a little more.

--

--