Beware of the new iOS 11 screen recording function and Facebook

Jason Yeaman
Mobile⌘Tech News
Published in
2 min readSep 17, 2017

Stealing your own content and reposting it will get you suspended.

iOS 11 Live broadcast

In case you did not know, iOS 11 includes a screen recording function that allows you to record anything that is on the screen.

Well, this morning I woke up early and headed up to the Mt. Timpanogos LDS Temple to catch the sunrise and record some cinematic footage with my DJI Spark…the, “toy” drone.

After a couple of shots, I edited the footage in iMovie for cuts and transitions, and then uploaded the final product to YouTube using the YouTube app for iOS, overlaying the video with Moonlight Sonata.

Here is the final result of that production:

Later on in the day, I created this video with the drone for my profile video…a 7 second looping feature that mobile users will see when they view photos, video or content created with your account.

However, I was uncuccessful in this evolution, as I have been suspended from uploading video to Facebook for ‘stealing’ content from YouTube and re-posting it on Facebook. Stealing my own content from my own YouTube channel using the iOS 11 screen recorder and publishing it to Facebook.

So the moral of the story is…do not screen record content and rebroadcast content on Facebook…even if that content was created by you, belongs to you, is your intellectual property and is original and legally and legitimately yours.

Originally published at imthemobile.guru.

--

--

Jason Yeaman
Mobile⌘Tech News

I cover topics in the mobile space: trends, strategy, business, legislation, philosophy and culture of Mobile technology.