What to do when people walk up to you when you are flying a drone | Drones

Jason Yeaman
Mobile⌘Tech News
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2018

Be nice.

I know it bugs a lot of people when folks walk up to you while you are operating your UAS. You are obviously out there doing it for a reason. Could be fun, you could be on a job…whatever. Just remember how you react with people when they approach you is how they will describe people who fly drones.

You are literally an ambassador for the drone community.

My experience

Today I set out to Antelope Island. It is a beautiful sunny day with a few clouds and light wind. I have all 4 batteries juiced up. I stopped by the Maverick to get a coke and some bug spray. I drive out to the park entrance, pay my fee and I’m headed out over the cause way.

I pick my spot and spray bug spray all over myself, my Jeep and the interior of the vehicle as well. Set the Spark out connect up and launch.

Not 15 seconds into. My flight a lady pulls over when I am, and approaches me.

In a New Zealand accent she asks me if I have a bird. Thinking this woman (she was in her 70’s but you never know) as asking my about my drone I answered, “Yes, it’s a Spark. Do you fly?” “No…no.” She answered. “I just have a camera with lots of telescoping lenses.”

While my Spark was still in the air just hovering, we had a conversation. I told her it’s tough to photograph the wildlife here unless you can get way far out there. Which was obviously why she had really nice telescoping lenses and I had a drone.

She asked me if the drone records as well as takes photos. I told her yes, and flew the Spark back into close proximity so she could see it.

Originally published at imthemobile.guru.

--

--

Jason Yeaman
Mobile⌘Tech News

I cover topics in the mobile space: trends, strategy, business, legislation, philosophy and culture of Mobile technology.