Maria Bitirini — part engineer, part athlete

Andy Page
Modern Athlete
Published in
6 min readJul 19, 2017

--

Maria is not your typical 25-year old. Despite being a full-time student studying Electrical and Computer Engineering, Maria still finds the time and the energy to train and live a healthy lifestyle. We sat down with this young and budding athlete to learn more about her training, the lessons she has learned, and why she does what she does.

What are your greatest accomplishments, personal bests, etc.?

My greatest accomplishment is definitely my body transformation. Many people believe that you can become lean with medical support, but they don’t understand the struggle you have all year long.

Another great accomplishment is my win at a local 10 km race, three years ago. I’m not a runner and it showed me that everything is in your mind.

Last but not least, I can’t forget the day that three friends and I ran almost 30 km for fun without even thinking about what we were doing. That is fitness for me; being able to accomplish everything you wish.

Can you give a brief description of yourself including a little background about your athletic career ?

I’ve been an athlete forever. I did synchronized swimming for 10 years straight. I stopped to study for some exams to get into university and I didn’t do any form of exercise for three years because I was too busy studying. I was eating crap and gained seven kilos from this lifestyle. Most of all, I felt that something was missing in my life. When I was 20 years old I started working out at a gym. When I saw how quickly my body remembered and how strong I could become, I got excited and never looked back. I started running a lot and doing many outdoor activities along with the gym. I was lifting at the gym, but then I met Crossfit and it was love at first sight. It combines everything. I love lifting, but I also love workouts that build endurance, and Crossfit offers this and more. I try every type of exercise and I love to stay healthy.

Was there a particular event that made you determined to take your commitment to Crossfit to the next level? On the other hand, was there anything that made you want to walk away from the sport?

The thing that makes me love Crossfit and commit to it, is the fact that I have constant progress in everything; I get stronger in my lifting numbers, better at gymnastics, and fitter than ever. Being a student away from home made me visit multiple Crossfit boxes. I learned many different things from different places and became motivated to get better and better by watching other athletes. On the other hand, traveling doesn’t help you to see progress like you would by staying at one box. Another thing that makes me sad is all the supplements amature athletes take (except the common: protein, aminos etc.) because Crossfit is extremely competitive and some people try to cheat. Everyone should place their health first above everything.

When did you feel at your lowest point? What got you through those hard times?

With my injury (some back/shoulder issue) I can’t do many of the gymnastics and lifting exercises. I feel weak, but my friends, the Crossfit community and the Instagram community make me feel better by reminding me that I’m not the only one who gets injured. I know that when I get better, I will hit some PR’s!

What are some important lessons you have learned over your many years of training?

  1. Everything requires patience. Achieving a heavier lift, running faster than before, and making your body leaner all require patience.
  2. Listen to your body. There are days that I feel weak regardless of whether I trained the previous day. There are days that I don’t want to workout even if I’m fine. I listen to myself and sometimes I don’t workout. Don’t force yourself if you don’t want to do it. I got injured a couple of times when I did this.
  3. Recovery is the key. Whenever I realize I’m injured, I stop exercising and go to the doctor. I stop every move that makes me hurt but I don’t fully stop exercising. I know many people who don’t stop when they’re injured. This is wrong, because the problem lingers and gets worse.. I never have the same injury twice because I take care of myself. .

If you had any advice to give to a young athlete (or maybe even a younger you) who wants to take their commitment to Crossfit/fitness the next level, what would it be?

Do what you want and don’t listen to others. If you love Crossfit and fitness, commit to it. Listen to your body and rest some days — don’t overtrain. Take care of your nutrition. Don’t be afraid to exceed your limits.

What are some of the ways you deal with challenges like burnout, and how do you get back to a good headspace in those moments?

I try to tell to myself that everything is part of the program. I relax, go swimming, and let my body fully recover before I get back at it again.

What is your next goal?

I really want to do heavier lifts and improve my lifting technique. I also want to get better at some gymnastic moves (handstand walk, strict ring mu, etc.)I always have many Crossfit goals!

What do your typical day and week look like?

I don’t have a typical day! As a student, my program is flexible. I try to combine training, studying, and going to the beach on some days. I don’t have a certain time to train, but my favorite time is generally noon. I train 4–6 times a week (depending on my weekly schedule) and sometimes I do two trainings in a day (one for strength and one for conditioning or technique.)

Why do you do what you do? What makes it all worth it?

I do what I do because I feel healthy and alive. I couldn’t imagine my life without doing all these trainings and activities. They fill my soul. It certainly is worth it because it’s my whole life!

Who is someone you’d like to see us feature on the Modern Athlete?

I’d like to see a big Crossfit athlete that came up after a big injury, like Alethea Boon or Julie Foucher.

You can fellow Maria on Instagram: mbitirini

Don’t forget to click the 💚

Modern Athlete is a publication run by HelloHealth, a community for athletes. Sign up for our newsletter.

--

--