Sierra Blair-Coyle — Climbing to new heights

Andy Page
Modern Athlete
Published in
4 min readAug 8, 2017

--

Hailing from Scottsdale, Arizona, 23-year-old Sierra Blair-Coyle has been competing professionally since the age of 14. Voted one of the Top 99 Most Outstanding Women of 2015 by AskMen, she has also been a World Cup Competitor (2010–2016), US Team Member and was a two-time National Champion as a junior competitor. Sierra graduated in May 2016 from Arizona State University with a degree in marketing. She now enjoys traveling the world competing and doing what she loves full-time. We sat down with her to learn more about why she does what she does.

Can you give a brief description of yourself and a little bit of background about your athletic career? When did it start? What inspired you to get into climbing?

Prior to climbing, I participated in gymnastics, dance, and cheerleading…but none of those sports really stuck with me. In the spring of 2002, I was introduced to climbing at a local mall by my house. I would beg my parents to take me to the small climbing wall everyday— even in the blazing summer heat! A few weeks after my climbing obsession started to take hold, my mom saw an article in the newspaper about a local climbing team and how they had just gone to nationals. I ended up visiting the climbing gym and joining the team, and the rest is history!

Was there a particular event that made you determined to take your commitment to climbing to the next level?

When I began climbing I had wanted to become a professional rock climber. There wasn’t necessarily a specific moment in time where I decided to become a professional rock climber, it is just what I had always wanted.

When did you feel at your lowest point? What got you through those hard times?

I had a bulging, torn, and herniated disc in my back when I was a teen. I always knew I would get through it, but it got to the point to where I couldn’t remember what it was like to climb without pain. Eventually I ended up healing and feeling normal again, but it took some time before that happened.

What are some important lessons you have learned over your many years of training?

Hard works pays off is the biggest lesson I have learned. I have had an amazing life because of my opportunities within climbing. Another important lesson I have learned is just that because you have a bad start to your climbing session, that doesn’t mean that it is going to end poorly. I apply that in climbing and in life; things don’t always need to begin well to end well.

If you had any advice to give to a young athlete (or maybe even a younger you) who wants to take their commitment to climbing to the next level, what would it be?

Work hard and never give up! It is cliche advice, but truly, there is nothing you cannot accomplish with hard work. It is not always going to be easy, but it is always going to be worth it.

What is your next goal?

I want to improve upon my highest World Cup placing (12th.) I know I can place in the top 10 and that is definitely my goal for my next competition!

What does your typical day look like? What about your week?

Right now I train two days on, one day off, and repeat that cycle. On my training days I usually wake up, eat breakfast, complete my first workout, rest/catch up on emails, eat lunch, complete my second workout, then go home, eat dinner, catch up on anything else, and relax. On non-training days my schedule is more or less the same, just without training! I try and fully embrace my rest days as well. I train hard on training days and it’s nice to recover.

Why do you do what you do? What makes it all worth it?

I honestly just love climbing. The amazing experiences are what makes it all worth it at the end of the day. No matter how hard the it can become, the positives always outweigh the negatives.

You can follow Sierra on Instagram: sierrablaircoyl

Don’t forget to click the 💚

Modern Athlete is a publication run by HelloHealth, a community for athletes. Sign up for our newsletter.

--

--