Why I started defining my core values

Little Zag
Open for Discussion
2 min readJun 25, 2014

--

How do you react?

I had just started a new job at a nursing home with co-workers all roughly around my mom’s age. They were all pleasant and cordial, but one stuffy lady who’s opinions directed at me were far from constructive. I couldn’t stop thinking about the rude remarks she made towards me, and I even wanted to quit my job because of her!

Then one day after venting to my husband, I had an ‘ah ha’ moment.

It came clear to me that all the other people that I worked with gave kind, encouraging words but I was giving their kindness less power than the negative words that someone I didn’t respect gave. How sad.

So it got me thinking, I automatically gave power and energy to those negative remarks from one person, over the positive ones of others without even thinking.

I am in need of an attitude ‘to do’ list. What are my core values in life that I want to live by?

Like the saying, ‘what get’s planned gets done.’ Same with my attitude, I have to actively define and then decide who I want to be. I have now been reminding myself to celebrate the positive actions of those around me, like focusing on the gratitude of my friend paying for my dinner, instead of focusing on that she was late.

Dealing with conflict is a healthy necessary part of life, but let’s realize the power of a purposeful outlook. Let’s actively define and decide our core values.

--

--

Little Zag
Open for Discussion

It is my spiritual obligation to convince you why country music is wrong and R&B is right. Let’s be open minded.