I Asked ChatGPT to Analyze My Blog. What Happened Next Was Weird.

One mystery and two lessons

Addie Page
A Different Page

--

Photo by Maximalfocus on Unsplash

I’ll be the first to admit: I am not the kind of person who should be trusted with a piece of technology like ChatGPT.

I’m odd, shameless, and pathologically curious. When other people are using ChatGPT to do research or write essays, I will probably just ask it to write a romance novel about a house cat, or demand a rap about the scientific impossibility known as “jeggings,” or commission a tearjerker tale about doorknobs. (At all of these tasks, I should note, it performed hilariously and alarmingly well. I’ve appended the results at the bottom of this article, if you’re curious.)

My point is: I am definitely going to hog the server for hours with wanton silliness, just to see how far the thing can stretch.

Except yesterday, I finally thought of a way to use it like a sane adult person might. I decided to get ChatGPT to give me writing advice.

My first thought was, I wonder how ChatGPT might describe articles by successful Medium writers? Perhaps I could pick up tips.

So, I made a list of writers who started blogging long before me and have much bigger followings, usually whose articles I have enjoyed and who seem to be making a little cheddar. Then I asked…

--

--

Addie Page
A Different Page

Essayist. Parent. Unusual woman. Sign up here to be notified when I publish: https://addiepage.medium.com/subscribe