An introduction to Memento Mori.

Leonina Arismendi
Modern Memento Mori
3 min readSep 4, 2017

Memento Mori is defined as an ‘ancient’ practice from Medieval Latin Christian times. A theory that begs us to reflect in the nourishing and refinement of the soul by considering the vanity of earthly life and its passing pleasures. Memento Mori’s literal translation from Latin is a sobering warning: “Remember that you have to die.”

Throughout human history the theme presents itself in different practices in different places in the world. Oftentimes it was upon artists, musicians and clergy/holy people whom the vital role of recording, redecorating and reminding us left behind of what is to come fell upon.

The aesthetics of Memento Mori as we think on it today are very much influenced by the romantic, flowery language of the Victorian era.

After the invention of photography, portraiture of the recently deceased became much more available to poor folks whom could not afford fashionable mementos like jewelry or commissioned paintings or intricate mausoleums after a loved one’s passing. Oftentimes, the only photograph people had of their dead was a memento mori.

My personal interest in the process of death has been, like most humans, a quiet fascination since I was a child. As an adult I had the opportunity to assist people and their grieving family at their hour of need as a hospice aide. During this time I met an artist whom taught me the words Memento Mori, her family practiced photographing their dead and she taught me that this was a long standing practice. I purchased my first Memento Mori for her, a Victorian era sepia photograph of a beautiful woman named Nelly quietly sleeping amidst a bed of flowers. To the uneasiness of most folks around me, I mounted this photo on a gorgeous antique turtle shell frame and gave her memory for safe-keeping. She became our friend, when we would speak on the phone I would casually ask how Nelly was doing, as if she was another roommate to check in on. I realized then much more than when I was physically present at work or at a grave side service that modern day people still feel an incredible (I daresay unhealthy) uneasiness about death.

From my first google search until today I have seen a lot written on the history of memento mori around the globe. In the modern day context, I see a lot of makers whom replicate the aesthetic cues from long ago to create stunning pieces of art, jewelry etc. to help provide grieving folks with small items, reminders of their dead to help move forward after a loss but not enough places (except whispers after someone’s passing as to not upset our also grieving family members, or at the therapist’s or grief counselor’s office, if you have the access to one) where we can talk about death unashamed.

But that is not all that memento mori in our modern world…

To me, those ‘riding in honor of…” car stickers are memento mori, the crosses on the side of the road marking the place someone unexpectedly died in an accident, they too are memento mori. A song which was not intended to be memento mori can be memento mori in the ears of those affected by a loved one’s loss. I began photographing these shortly after my sweet nephew passed away, as an artist I record all of my life, joys and sorrows alike and as we ritually go back to the place in which he drowned, leaving flowers and balloons we began noticing that other folks whom were on that beach that day had been doing the same: We were communicating our grief in a tender, unspoken way. That is when I began wondering who else sees these mementos on the road and also feels the sting of death, the shared human experience of grief and loss and sheds a tear for a stranger’s pain.

And this is why this publication exists. To share our stories, to cry together.

As the editor and publisher of Modern Memento Mori (also MMM and found on the tags #ModernMementoMori) I want to welcome you: This is a safe space to grieve, to share your stories and creations centered around this theme. Your emotional labor in reading and creating is appreciated here.

-Saint Solaris.

--

--

Leonina Arismendi
Modern Memento Mori

Award winning Writer serving social Justice rants, sermons, personal essays and more! www.leoninaarismendi.com