Welcome to Modern Memento Mori,

This new publication is coming to Medium on the Fall 2017.

Leonina Arismendi
Modern Memento Mori
2 min readFeb 20, 2017

--

Welcome future readers and writers,

My name is Leonina Arismendi žarković and I am an artist and activist from Uruguay living in the United States. I am also Modern Memento Mori’s Editor.

Before becoming a full time artist I was a private duty Hospice Aide (sometimes known as Death Duolas) for over five years, I have cared for dozens of people as they pass away and even dozens more family members after the loss. I was soft-diagnosed with a chronic illness whilst pregnant with my now three year old and since then became too sick to work.

In the past three years, art and writing has helped me heal a little from the untimely passing of my nephew and my grandmother and some dear friends. Religion, death and Philosophy and the way that people in modern times deal with them became even more prominent themes in my body of work.

I began using the hashtags Modern Memento Mori a few years ago: I wanted to compile a list of mentions on the internet (as I read them) on the different ways that people all over the world work through their grief in modern times. Through the years, Modern Memento Mori developed into a photography series which focused on the everyday ways that folks remember their loved ones, oftentimes tied with personal stories and even a curated, wildly successful all Latinx art show at Art Mart FXBG called “Dia de los Avivados.”

I always dreamed of adding more voices to this project: I am very interested in the way other people grieve their losses, I am interested in proving support to families, and ending the stigmas and mystification of what happens at the end of our lives. I want to provide a safe space for people, writers and non writers alike to feel comfortable enough to share their grief and healing process. Medium is a perfect platform to work on this together.

Give us a follow to keep up with as we drop our new website and branding as we move closer to our launch. If you are interested in sharing with us, send word to yanina.angelini.arismendi@gmail.com with MMM in the subject line.

Warm Regards,

Leonina. AKA Saint Solaris.

--

--

Leonina Arismendi
Modern Memento Mori

Award winning Writer serving social Justice rants, sermons, personal essays and more! www.leoninaarismendi.com