Just Ask

Tom Savage
Modern Men
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2016

I’ve asked the universe for a few things recently. And it’s answered back. It’s been pretty generous.

I’ve just checked in for a flight with Delta. When I used to live in the States I signed up for a Delta Skymiles credit card when I found out I could double my air miles (this isn’t an advert) however, it seems like I would never get enough miles to add up to anything.

As I am always early and the desk was free I stopped in and spoke with a guy named Jarek at the check in desk. I sort of knew I wouldn’t have enough for an upgrade to my flight to Atlanta. And I hesitated and was about to walk away. Something made me stop. I went over and asked.

Jarek informed me that I didn’t have enough air miles to upgrade. Oh well. But I really knew that. Then he said, ‘let me see what I can do.’

Jarek upgraded me to a Premium Economy seat with a spare seat next to me! For free.

At 6'2 every inch of leg room makes a difference and no one next to you on a flight feels like a real luxury.

I am glad I made myself ask.

What should you be asking for today?

--

--

Tom Savage
Modern Men

I quit my job and took a year off to write, this is the reality of my experience.