Motherhood: Messes and Mayhem

Belly laughs, tender hugs, pee on the walls, and crumbs in every corner

Casey
Modern Mothers
3 min readJul 1, 2024

--

Photo by Author

Motherhood is a blessing, but not without its share of curses and curse words. I’m in the thick of it with a 3-year-old and a 1-year-old. The toddler years are the cutest. Filled with belly laughs, tender hugs, pee on the walls, and crumbs in every corner.

My house

At any given time, one room will be horrifically messy, as if a tornado came through while the kids were awake. The chaos goes unnoticed until a bare foot steps on a block. Or when trying to gather laundry from the floor and counting 79 toys in the process.

If you never had children think that I am exaggerating, or that perhaps I am just a lazy and gross person, please keep that to yourself. It is 2:57 pm and I have already swept the dining room floor 3 times, after vacuuming it last night once the kids were in bed. I am far from a clean freak, but kids are messy.

There is a partially deflated, sad balloon following me around the house. It rolls over the floor, no longer young and spry like I once was. I dare not throw it out. There would be hell to pay if I got rid of it.

Guests have commented on the balloon. They snicker at its wilted state and question my sanity, pondering why it is still drifting along in the corner of the room when I could easily throw it out.

They don’t know that my boss has forbidden me from removing it. My boss is my 3-year-old. Those with toddlers will understand.

My reality

If this essay rambles, please know that this is all my brain can manage at the end of the day. Every morning I wake up, excited for the day ahead. What fun will be had? What amazing things will I do with my kids? What wonderful memories and learning opportunities will I create?

But then the milk gets tossed on the floor and yogurt streaked through hair. The dishwasher must be emptied, laundry must be done, and meals must be made. I collapse on the couch at naptime, hoping time slows down and I will find the motivation to pick up the 75 toys on the floor. Knowing full well that my doing this will be in vain. My tiny mess monsters will again throw 75 toys on the floor within seconds of being awake.

Maybe I will have time to relax and enjoy some me time today, but I won’t kid myself. Time does not ebb and flow with motherhood. It proceeds quickly unless rocking a baby in the depths of the night, desperate for them to fall asleep. This is the only situation where time doesn’t move fast enough.

My joy

Since this essay was filled with far too many gripes, let me be sure to say that I do love motherhood and my children. It is so rewarding…minus the mess. I miss those gremlins once they are asleep in their beds. They bring me joy, laughter, and endless love. They give me purpose and I cannot imagine my life without them.

When they are finally asleep in their beds, dreaming of what messes they will make tomorrow, I collapse on the couch. I scroll through pictures and videos of memories we have made. My heart is full. Tomorrow will be another day of both joy and mess.

MI wouldn’t have it any other way.

--

--

Casey
Modern Mothers

Welcome to the musings of a 30-something, slightly anxious introvert. My main job is mama but the pay sucks. I hope you enjoy the workings of my inner monologue