A Dream Is All We Know by The Lemon Twigs | Album Review

Nick Eustis
Modern Music Analysis
3 min readMay 9, 2024

--

The sixth album from the NYC indie pop-rock duo continues to stun with their modern take on classic sounds.

Credit: Eva Chambers, Captured Tracks

Before I saw a glowing Anthony Fantano review of Everything Harmony by The Lemon Twigs, I had never heard of this band before.

Despite being terminally online, I feel like I’m slow to discover the cool indie artists, so I’m so glad I was introduced to the duo of brothers Brian and Michael D’Addario. This New York indie rock outfit has an impeccable ability to give a modern twist to the most classic pop rock sounds of the 60s and 70s, and they continue that tradition on their sixth album A Dream Is All We Know.

From minute one, we get more proof that the D’Addario brothers can make music that resonates with my soul, and I could play on repeat for years. Opening track “My Golden Years” is a euphoric 70s pop-rock number, with the brothers playing with both their trademark falsetto and the rougher sides of their voices. I also deeply feel the lyrics on this one, as they sing of being in the prime of their life, but knowing how they need to seize the moment:

Though so much has passed, the only thing true

Is nothing can last

And in the blink of an eye

I’ll watch these golden years fly by.

--

--

Nick Eustis
Modern Music Analysis

Musician and journalist with a passion for critique. Will be reviewing the latest in new music regularly. Always down to listen to something interesting!